Frida Fabulous Skirt & Hawking my Wares

Standard

I’ve finished the first summer sewing project of 2014. Alexander Henry recently released a new Frida Kahlo fabric that you can see here. I found it absolutely wonderful, and ordered the one I linked to in the navy background and several of the complementary prints as well. My plan is/was to make one skirt for me and one to sell on Etsy. Most importantly, my skirt is finished:

Frida Skirt FV Frida Skirt Ruffles

I added the set of three tiny ruffles to go right across the butt for a little Salsa attitude and I’m wearing it to a party on Saturday. After having my serger for at least 5 years, I finally realized that the reason my rolled edge stitching never worked quite right is because I didn’t realize it was telling me to flip a lever. Sigh. Just when you think you’re a genius and the best ever, you figure out something like that. Stay humble!

I’ve had to adjust my skirt sloper since I’ve shifted to a gluten free diet, as I’ve lost at least three inches at my waist. I didn’t do it for weight loss, but rather to see if it would help with inflammation and IBS, which I can report that it has. The more shapely waist is just a fringe benefit. It also means there are three skirts in my closet that I made last year that I now have to do extensive alterations on so that they fit me again. Or I”ll just make more clothes….

Also, I have started going through some of my boxes of stock (read:hoarding) and found this fun, vintage caftan that I listed on Etsy this afternoon:

J Peterman Full You can click the Etsy banner on the sidebar to see my store and that particular listing.

I’m already working on the next sewing project, so it’s back to the studio for me.

About Guenevere

I am an artist, a stitcher and a costume designer expressing myself through design, costuming, sewing, drawing and teaching. I also have Ehler's Danlos Syndrome, Type 1, and suffer daily chronic pain, degenerative changes to my joints, IBS, POTS and likely MCAS. Life is one big picnic.

Leave a Reply

