I Planned for Red

Standard

In my mind’s eye, the deer in this drawing would be red. I’m in charge of that, so last night I worked on them. This is what happened:

20140514_082837_resized

 

Those are not red deer.

I went back to them this morning. I decided to throw caution to the winds and got out the watercolors. I got to here:

20140514_091725_resized

Then I had a sort of momentary connection of brain synapses and remembered that I teach makeup and color and that continuing to shadow in purple or brown was not going to give the contrast and depth I needed. It’s elementary—I needed to use red’s complementary color, which is green. How is it I can teach this stuff and then forget to use it? Objectivity vs subjectivity, I think. I get really emotionally drawn into my work, so I tend to be unable to see it clearly. This is also something that I teach in Stage Makeup–we are unable to view our faces objectively or, even, as a whole. If I look at my face in a mirror, I see its parts, I see my perception of my face, but I am not able to view it without all that subjectivity. If, however, I photograph my face or look at someone else’s face, I am able to view it more objectively.

So after some subtle changes, here’s where they are currently. I *think* they are done and I can move on. I also have trouble knowing when to stop until it’s too late and I’ve overworked something, which is another reason photographing work in progress is helping me to view it better.

20140514_091750_resized

What I can’t explain is why they aren’t pure crimson red as planned.

About Guenevere

I am an artist, a stitcher and a costume designer expressing myself through design, costuming, sewing, drawing and teaching. I also have Ehler's Danlos Syndrome, Type 1, and suffer daily chronic pain, degenerative changes to my joints, IBS, POTS and likely MCAS. Life is one big picnic.

Leave a Reply

