New Vintage for the Etsy Store

Standard

Yesterday I listed these two gems:

Scallop Dress Flash 1 Scallop Dress 1

This one is silk, from the late 50s, with scalloped skirt and sheer bodice. I added the vintage embellishment to cover two pinholes in the organza, and it really brought the whole thing together. I’m only selling it because I have lost weight and it no longer fits me. It needs a curvy girl with a Jane Russell rack.

 

 

Cheongsam 1 Cheongsam 2

 

This one is a silk or rayon velvet cheongsam (pronounced more like “SheongSaum”) whose age I am not certain of. Bias cut, it will hug curves and is also, sadly, a bit too big for me. The cheongsam is a fashion classic that never goes out of style. In the 50s, they were sometimes called SuzieWong dresses, referencing the exotic Chinese prostitute character played by Nancy Kwan. That term, however, is referencing such a stereotype under the white male gaze that it is not often heard (and shouldn’t be).

I only sell things that I would wear myself, and while parting is such sweet sorrow, someone is going to be The Bomb in either one of them.

About Guenevere

I am an artist, a stitcher and a costume designer expressing myself through design, costuming, sewing, drawing and teaching. I also have Ehler's Danlos Syndrome, Type 1, and suffer daily chronic pain, degenerative changes to my joints, IBS, POTS and likely MCAS. Life is one big picnic.

Leave a Reply

