Dizzying

Standard

I’ve had several break-throughs this past week or so, and it’s almost like I fell into a rabbit hole and came out a different version of myself.

  1. I realized that in response to the structure of my family, I chose, at the age of six, to be the person who would be perfect, and who would make everything okay for everyone. Did you make a decision that hurt my feelings? I won’t tell you, it would make you uncomfortable, it’s okay. Do you have inadequate social skills and monopolize conversations? It’s okay, I will suffer through rather than call you on it. There are a million examples, and I’m in the process of setting myself free. It’s scary but also liberating when say, I’m on the phone with my MIL and she is detailing the various possible locations of the dining table in RVs and I think, “It is not my problem that you are inept at conversation.” OMG IT’S NOT MY PROBLEM. I interrupt the moment she takes a breath, tell her the things that I think are news on our end, tell her that we are thinking of her and that breakfast is ready so I must go. I’m not, ever again, sitting down to a cold meal because someone wanted to tell me how the weather has been everyday this month.
  2. I read this post and saw myself therein. I need to pace myself on a long term basis. This means that my activity level should not spike and bottom out, but remain more constant. I can’t push myself to the edge anymore. At least as much as it is possible–working in theater this over-activity business is kind of “how we do things ’round here.” This is difficult, because it means letting go of the “maybe that was the last flare up” mindset. This is a permanent condition. So easy to write, yet so very difficult to accept.

A result of examining both my people-pleasing at the expense of my own happiness and my tendency to over-activity–both of which are things that hurt rather than help–I did something really out of character. I had a thought, “It would be so cool if I could afford to have an assistant in my studio, even a few hours a week, to do some of the stuff I can’t do, but also stuff I don’t want to do because it takes away from the number of spoons I have to do the things only I can do.” This was followed by the realization that having done away with massage, I am saving nearly $400 a month. I CAN afford to hire an assistant, at $10 an hour, for four or five hours a week. So, I did.

I’m panicking a little now, because this is tremendously new territory for me. My assistant starts Friday, and my goal yesterday was to start a list of what she can do for me. I choked, man. I sat in my messy, chaotic studio and couldn’t figure out what to have her do–because, as I told her when I interviewed her, I am not entirely sure what this will look like. It’s hard to give up control of my creative space in any way, and hard to direct an able-bodied person to do things for me. She completely understood that, and now I am trying to fully understand that, and figure out a list of things for Friday. It’s much harder than it seems, because there’s a lot going on underneath the surface in terms of my own acceptance of my condition and limitations.

I am sure I will make it through, I am sure I am doing the right thing for myself and I know it’s okay to feel like I’m embarking on a trip with no itinerary. We’ll get to the destination we need to get to–we won’t be left floating about the ocean with no sail. Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

